Zimbabwe Warriors begin AFCON 2019 qualifiers preps

Warriors interim coach Norman Mapeza held his first training session with part of the 25-member Warriors squad this Tuesday morning at Prophet Walter Magaya’s Prophetic Healing and Deliverance complex in Waterfalls.

Zimbabwe will begin their campaign for AFCON 2019 with a home tie against Liberia at the National Sports Stadium on Sunday the 11 June in the capital.

Among the foreign based players who are now in camp include Ovidy Karuru who resurrected his career with South African side Amazulu, Thabani Kamusoko of Young Africans in Tanzania.

Mapeza expressed satisfaction with the turnout and preparatory camp.

European-based striker Knowledge Musona, and SA-based Khama Billiat are expected in the country by Thursday after playing their last club matches on Tuesday and Wednesday evening.

Caps United quartet of Edmore Sibanda, Dennis Dauda, Devon Chafa and Ronald Chitiyo who missed their side’s match against Shabanie Mine all trained with the team while the technical team waited for the doctor’s reports.

The players who got into camp on Monday were expected to sign a contract with ZIFA on daily allowances and bonuses before they began training proper on Tuesday.

Among those foreign-based recalled were Eric Chipeta of Ajax Cape Town, Thabani Kamusoko of Young Africans in Tanzania and Ovidy Karuru of Amazulu (SA).

Locally-based were led by Partson Jaure, Teenage Hadebe, Jameson Mukombwe, Sydney Linyama, Simon Shoko, Liberty Chakoroma, Ronald Chitiyo and Prince Dube.

From the 2017 AFCON squad Onisimo Bhasera, Khama Billiat, Kudakwashe Mahachi, Tendai Ndoro, Evans Rusike, Marvelous Nakamba, Danny Phiri and Knowledge Musona were retained.

Dropped from the last 2017 AFCON were the alleged ring leaders who led boycott of a send-off dinner hosted by government who include former captain Willard Katsande, Nyasha Mushekwi, former vice-captain Cuthbert Malajila and Evans Rusike.

Source: ZBC Online 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *